Why I chose slow living instead of quiet quitting.

The choice to slow down one’s life is not the easiest of choices to make. Sure, the whole slow living aesthetic seems super chill and relaxing – just intense self care.

However, thereality of slowing down is hard, and the sacrifices to make are not easy to stomach. Before you pare down your work/social life, do take a step back and think “Is it really worth it? Can I afford to do so?”

For me, it set me thinking. Is slow living similar to quiet quitting?

Quiet quitting involves burn out, work dissatisfaction, disillusionment of their value and perceived validation under the corporate ladder bench mark. Sure, that spike of dopamine from achievements is great, but if you’re eventually going back into a negative space, you know that this is not right for you. Quiet quitting is also referred to “laying still” in mandarin. It gives an image of resignation. But, without some work, manageable stress and realistic milestones, will this peace from not striving at work last?

I believe the concept of “Quiet Quitting” stems from the idealisation of slow living, yet being unable to let go of a full-time job, be it for security or pragmatic reasons. However, this does not mean that slow living is the same as quiet quitting.

Instead, slow living prompts one to engage in stepping back, reassessing their goals in life, reevaluating if their ambitions and expectations are realistic before coming up with a plan to decrease their workload or drive to reach that next milestone.

Also, slow living does unearth an important question:

What if, your milestones have changed but the mind has not caught up to that reality?

This year, I transited into a “study and work part-time” lifestyle, and letting my husband be the main breadwinner. Initially, it did bring up feelings of insecurity and loss of identity. I also felt vulnerable, having to be more financially reliant on him. However, as time passed, I learnt to sit with these emotions and got to know them better and what insecurities have bred them. I just have to remind myself that I had been preparing for this step the last 2 years. It was whether I was willing to take the leap.

I’ll elaborate more on how I am slowly pulling away from the corporate treadmill, and to make better choices.

As of today, 70% of my anxiety towards work has dissipated, my stress is manageable and I sleep better at night. I can literally feel my mind, body and self esteem slowly heal. It is a very therapeutic sensation and I would like to sustain this balance for as long as I can.

2 thoughts on “Why I chose slow living instead of quiet quitting.

Leave a comment