Leaving Therapy

As you may know, I’ve been going through a phase of anxiety and depression. Mainly because of work-related stress. Today, my therapist has discharged me from counseling! Why? Her rationale is that I am able to find affirmations of my decision-making as accurate, thus reducing my stressors. I have also managed to find ways to help reinforce these affirmations.

What has this got to do with minimalism?

With minimalism, comes this perception of contentment. I am able to be content and happy with what I have, what I can control and when I know I am logically sound.

No, I’m not saying non- minimalists do not have such perceptions – however, most likely, it is less practiced in day-to-day scenarios.

How have I benefitted from therapy?

  • Learning ways to find affirmation
  • Desensitizing myself to triggers
  • Understanding how and what is my trigger/triggers
  • Learning to embrace life as a whole
  • Find better, more fulfilling goals beyond the work environment

I am not my title.

I am here, as myself.

I am not my work, my role in the family, my role – externalized.

2 thoughts on “Leaving Therapy

  1. Hi!

    Saw your post through subscription… Glad that you are doing well. Would like to know if you still have the contact to your therapist? Was wondering if it’s possible to share to a close contact of mine….

    Thanks, Si Ying

    On Wed, 30 Mar 2022 at 10:57 AM, Minimalism In Singapore wrote:

    > Minimalism In Singapore posted: ” As you may know, I’ve been going through > a phase of anxiety and depression. Mainly because of work-related stress. > Today, my therapist has discharged me from counseling! Why? Her rationale > is that I am able to find affirmations of my decision-making as a” >

    Like

Leave a comment