Image

The Environmental Debate of Cups


Most websites claim that re-usable menstrual pads are much better for the environment and reduces the issues of bacterial infections and cramps.

Here’s my take:

  1. The menstrual cup works for a primary holder
  2. The menstrual cup works amazingly on lighter flow days
  3. The menstrual cup would give you an infection if you are not particular with hygiene or unable to do so.
  4. Re-usable pads (especially DIY) are useless.

Re-usable pads take up a lot more effort to clean and disinfect and be kept. They aren’t the best of things to use while being out and about if you are on a heavy flow.

However, a menstrual cup works well for the following reasons:

  1. You can leave it in for about 4-5 hours (which is great because you usually get to use a bathroom every 2 hours at least)
  2. It saves you money on disposable pads. You will use less pads if you use both the menstrual cup and pads for heavier days and then cup for lighter ones.
  3. You can use it for mild infections for holding any remedies in.
  4. It is very easy to sterilize.
  5. It is very light and portable and does not take up much space.

Thus, my take would be YES to the menstrual cup and NO to re-usable pads. I feel it is a lot more hygienic and environmentally beneficial to simply use A LOT LESS disposable pads, than to go through the hassle with the re-usable ones.

 

 

One thought on “The Environmental Debate of Cups

  1. I totally agree. I’ve recently changed over and I love it! I also love that I’m not throwing away a bunch of stuff into the garbage. Thanks for the love on my blog 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment